Vcenter 7.0 Upgrade and Install Failure at 28%

This post was originally published on this site

I have been trying to install vCenter 7.0 on our 7.0 esxi standalone server that we have. This is a new install of everything. I started with vSphere Hypervisor 7.0 and it installed fine with no issues. Since then I have been trying to install vCenter using the ui and it fails at 28% every time. I have verified that my DNS records are correct, as I read in another post that it might be causing an issue. I have checked all my network setups and there is nothing blocking the communication between the 2 subnets. Also to make sure everything network wise was working correctly and to try and upgrade instead of install fresh, I install vCenter 6.7 and it went off without a hitch. So I am at a loss as to why I can’t upgrade or install fresh vCenter 7.0. Here is some of the Network information and Logs from the failure.

 

Here is how we have the network setup.

vSphere Hypervisor – xxx.xxx.110.5

vCenter Server 6.7 – xxx.xxx.111.10

DNS records – xxx-vcenter.xxx.net

 

ESXI Networking

Host Management VLAN ID 111

Management Network VLAN ID 110

 

These are the network settings I have been trying to use when I update or install vsca 7.0

vcenter-network.png

Logs of failure:

 

2020-08-10T16:55:24.564Z – debug: targetServer: xxx.xxx.110.5, sysName: xxx-vcenter.xxx.net, ipAddr: xxx.xxx.111.10

2020-08-10T16:55:24.564Z – debug: checking if xxx.xxx.111.10 exists in the network of vimConn: undefined

2020-08-10T16:55:24.564Z – debug: isIp: xxx.xxx.111.10: true

2020-08-10T16:55:24.564Z – debug: getVmWithIPFQDN: hostName xxx-vcenter.xxx.net is associated with [ ‘xxx.xxx.111.10’ ]

2020-08-10T16:55:24.615Z – error: No VM found with hostname xxx-vcenter.xxx.net

2020-08-10T16:55:24.615Z – debug: Error in getVmWithIPFQDN: No VM found with hostname xxx-vcenter.xxx.net

2020-08-10T16:55:24.615Z – info: Network Prechecks Succeeded

2020-08-10T16:55:24.644Z – debug: scope.networkPrefixLabel: Subnet mask or prefix length

2020-08-10T16:55:24.644Z – debug: Summary page: summaryTargetLabel: Target ESXi host

2020-08-10T16:55:26.235Z – debug: sucMsg: You have successfully deployed the vCenter Server.

2020-08-10T16:55:26.237Z – info: vcsaFilePath: D:vcsa

2020-08-10T16:55:26.237Z – debug: network prefix length: 24

2020-08-10T16:55:26.237Z – info: <PERFORMANCE>:DEPLOYMENT_SIZE:tiny

2020-08-10T16:55:26.237Z – debug: ovaFile retrieved: D:vcsaVMware-vCenter-Server-Appliance-7.0.0.10100-15952498_OVF10.ova

2020-08-10T16:55:26.237Z – info: OVF Tool Options: –X:logFile=C:UsersADM~1.CRAAppDataLocalTempvcsaUiInstallerovftool-20200810-114853415-20200810-115526237.log –X:logLevel=trivia –machineOutput –I:morefArgs –targetSSLThumbprint=1C:32:FE:B4:2E:B2:8E:D0:8B:40:8E:0A:D5:33:98:22:08:BD:38:B6 –acceptAllEulas –powerOn –X:enableHiddenProperties –allowExtraConfig –X:injectOvfEnv –sourceType=OVA –name=FCR1 vCenter Server –deploymentOption=tiny –prop:guestinfo.cis.deployment.node.type=embedded –prop:guestinfo.cis.deployment.autoconfig=False –prop:guestinfo.cis.clientlocale=en –datastore=vim.Datastore:5f2d01e2-398d511c-5747-e4434b9c4b44 –net:Network 1=vim.Network:HaNetwork-Host Management –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.addr.family=ipv4 –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.mode=static –diskMode=thick –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.pnid=xxx.xxx.111.10 –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.addr=xxx.xxx.111.10 –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.prefix=24 –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.dns.servers=xxx.xxx.5.3,xxx.xxx.81.11 –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.gateway=xxx.xxx.111.2 –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.net.ports={“rhttpproxy.ext.port1″:”80″,”rhttpproxy.ext.port2″:”443”} –prop:guestinfo.cis.appliance.root.passwd=CENSORED D:vcsaVMware-vCenter-Server-Appliance-7.0.0.10100-15952498_OVF10.ova vi://root:CENSORED@192.168.110.5:443

2020-08-10T16:55:26.237Z – debug: ovftoolCmd retrieved: D:vcsaovftoolwin32ovftool.exe

 

2020-08-10T16:55:27.410Z – info: output:PROGRESS

2020-08-10T16:55:29.297Z – info: output:+ 1

2020-08-10T16:55:30.663Z – info: output:+ 2

2020-08-10T16:55:32.621Z – info: output:+ 3

2020-08-10T16:55:33.991Z – info: output:+ 4

2020-08-10T16:55:35.335Z – info: output:+ 5

2020-08-10T16:55:36.582Z – info: output:+ 6

2020-08-10T16:55:38.299Z – info: output:+ 7

2020-08-10T16:55:39.873Z – info: output:+ 8

2020-08-10T16:55:41.149Z – info: output:+ 9

2020-08-10T16:55:42.460Z – info: output:+ 10

2020-08-10T16:55:44.135Z – info: output:+ 11

2020-08-10T16:55:45.296Z – info: output:+ 12

2020-08-10T16:55:46.948Z – info: output:+ 13

2020-08-10T16:55:48.109Z – info: output:+ 14

2020-08-10T16:55:49.481Z – info: output:+ 15

2020-08-10T16:55:50.776Z – info: output:+ 16

2020-08-10T16:55:51.948Z – info: output:+ 17

2020-08-10T16:55:53.127Z – info: output:+ 18

2020-08-10T16:55:54.723Z – info: output:+ 19

2020-08-10T16:55:55.885Z – info: output:+ 20

2020-08-10T16:55:57.454Z – info: output:+ 21

2020-08-10T16:55:58.610Z – info: output:+ 22

2020-08-10T16:55:59.813Z – info: output:+ 23

2020-08-10T16:56:01.471Z – info: output:+ 24

2020-08-10T16:56:02.621Z – info: output:+ 25

2020-08-10T16:56:03.769Z – info: output:+ 26

2020-08-10T16:56:05.336Z – info: output:+ 27

2020-08-10T16:56:06.494Z – info: output:+ 28

2020-08-10T16:56:08.007Z – info: output:+ 29

2020-08-10T16:56:09.183Z – info: output:+ 30

2020-08-10T16:56:10.655Z – info: output:+ 31

2020-08-10T16:56:11.874Z – info: output:+ 32

2020-08-10T16:56:13.034Z – info: output:+ 33

2020-08-10T16:56:14.545Z – info: output:+ 34

2020-08-10T16:56:15.709Z – info: output:+ 35

2020-08-10T16:56:16.531Z – info: ovfProcess child process exited with code 3221225477

2020-08-10T16:59:26.693Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 11:59:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:04:26.688Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:04:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:09:26.697Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:09:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:14:26.673Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:14:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:19:26.654Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:19:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:24:26.691Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:24:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:29:26.642Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:29:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:34:26.623Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:34:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:39:26.641Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:39:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:44:26.624Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:44:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:49:26.600Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:49:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:54:26.585Z – debug: Updated current session with lstActTm Mon Aug 10 2020 12:54:17 GMT-0500 (Central Daylight Time)

2020-08-10T17:56:26.124Z – debug: ovfDeployTimer executed, OVF_DEPLOYMENT_DONE: false

2020-08-10T17:56:26.125Z – error: ovfDeployTimer: ovf deployment failed after 3600000 ms passed in which no response from the server was received

2020-08-10T17:56:26.125Z – info: Terminate the ovfDeploy process

2020-08-10T17:56:26.127Z – info: Cancelling the ping timer for session mgmt

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.