Auto-suspend feature in Workstation Pro 14

This post was originally published on this site

How does the auto-suspend feature work in Workstation Pro 14?   As far as I can tell from the documentation, this feature only works for Shared and Remote vm’s. I have a few VM’s whose files are saved on different physical drives in the Windows host and if I’m not mistaken, Shared VM’s must be on the same physical drive. I prefer to have them on different physical drives for better performance. Is there a way to use auto-suspend for non-Shared VM’s?  I see a setting in the bundled Workstation Player that came with Workstation Pro, it says “When closing a virtual machine:” and there’s an option to “Suspend the virtual machine.” But even if that’s the feature I’m looking for, this option wouldn’t work because I need to run multiple VM’s at once which I don’t believe is possible in Player. This feature is described in the documentation at https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-Workstation-Pro/14.0/com.vmware.ws.using.doc/GUID-E3CF099C-DE18-44A4-9B81-24BCD72004BE.html

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.